Theatres and CinemasOdessa Regional Academic Russian Drama Theatre

The edifice of the Odessa Academic Russian Dramatic Theatre was built in 1873-1874  
in the former grain warehouses.

The theater had been built in a hurry, as a temporary building for the City Theatre (Odessa at that time had no city theater, because it was burned down in 1873). The architect of the building was the famous Odessa architect F. Gonsiorovskiy. "Temporary" building, however, stood idle until 1909, when by order of the new owner of the theater, it was redesigned to the skating-ring, which was modern in that time.

The reconstruction project was designed by architects F. Troupyansky and L. Prokopovich. In 1927, when the Soviet Russian Drama Theatre was formed, the building was again transformed by the architect M. Linetskyi. At the end of 1930 another reconstruction was carried out and the building was declared as a monument of history and architecture. In 2000 began new, last in a row renovation of the building by the project of architect A. Martynenko and ingeneer E. Lysenko. During this reconstruction stage box was built.

The troupe of impresario N. Miloslavsky held the first season, and the theater had name “Velikanov Theatre”. In 1875 the theater was sold to F. Rafalovich, who renamed it in the Russian theater.

In the years before the Russian Revolution the theatre hosted the main theatrical events of the city. Many Russian, Ukrainian, German, French, Italian, drama, opera and оperetta companies performed on its stage among which Sarah Bernhardt, Eleonora Duse, Benoît-Constant Coquelin, Jean Mounet-Sully, Maria Savina, Vladimir Davydov, Maria Zankovetskaya, Panas Saksagansky and Mark Kropivnitsky.

After the Russian Civil War, the “State Odessa Russian Drama Theatre” was officially registered in 1926 and the building was allocated to this government owned entity. In 1927, the Executive Political Committee of the Odessa Governorate (Gubispolkom) appointed opera singer Andrei Alekseyevich Ivanov as director of the theatre.

Important Russian and Ukrainian directors produced shows at the Odessa Russian Theatre, among which were: Abram Rubin, Alexey Gripich, Аvraam Teplev, Aleksandr Solomarsky, Vladimir Bortko the elder, Viktor Terentyev, Konstantin Chernyadev, Viktor Strizhov, Eduard Mitnitsky, Aleksandr Dzekun and many others.

During the occupation of Odessa in the Great Patriotic War the theatre, which was known at that time as the "Russian theater Basil Vronsky" (named after its new owner - the former before the Revolutionary actor of the same theater), he continued to work and was opened on the 16th of April, 1942 by the performance of Gogol’s "The Inspector General". G. Stoltz worked as a chief director in the theater. The troupe of 45 artists was working in the theater and also 25 people from technical staff. Over 2 years of working in the occupation in the theater "The Cherry Orchard", "The Law of the savage" Artsibashev, "Well tailored suit" Z. Tayfunlengiela were performed. Famous singer Peter Leshchenko had his first performance in the Odessa Russian Theater on the 20th of May, 1942.
In December 2009, the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of Ukraine awarded the Odessa regional Russian drama theatre with the rank of academic theatre. In the time of Soviet Union and new countries, created after its collapse, this title is awarded to the theatres considered to be most prestigious in the country.

ТеатрыОдесский областной академический русский драматический театр

Здание театра было построено в 1873 — 1874 гг. на месте бывших хлебных складов.

Театр возводился в спешке, как временное здание для городского театра (Одесса в то время осталась без городского театра, здание которого сгорело в 1873 году). Архитектором здания был знаменитый одесский архитектор Ф. В. Гонсиоровский. «Временное» здание, однако, с успехом простояло до 1909 года, когда по заказу нового владельца театра оно было перепрофилировано под модный тогда скейтинг-ринг.

Переоборудование проектировали архитекторы Ф. А. Троупянский и Л. Ф. Прокопович. В 1927 году, когда был образован советский русский драматический театр, здание было вновь переоборудовано архитектором М. И. Линецким. В конце 1930-х была произведена ещё одна реконструкция и зданию был присвоен статус памятника истории и архитектуры. В 2000 году началась новая, последняя по счёту, реконструкция здания по проекту архитектора А. В. Мартыненко и инженера Е. В. Лысенко. Во время этой реконструкции была возведена сценическая коробка.

Первый сезон здесь выступала труппа антрепренёра Н. К. Милославского, а театр носил название Театр Великанова. В 1875 году театр был продан Ф. Рафаловичу. Тот переименовал театр в Русский театр.

Театр стал площадкой для заезжих трупп. Здесь ставили оперные и опереточные спектакли. На сцене театра выступали Сара Бернар, Элеонора Дузе, Бенуа Коклен, Жан Муне-Сюлли, Мария Савина, Владимр Давыдов, Мария Заньковецкая, Панас Саксаганский и Марк Кропивницкий.

В 1926 году театр стал именоваться Одесский русский драматический театр и именно с этого момента ведёт свою историю драматический театр с русской труппой. В 1927 году театру было присвоено имя Андрея Иванова — председателя Одесского Губисполкома.

В разные годы здесь ставили спектакли и руководили театром: Яков Рубин, Алексей Грипич, Авраам Треплев, Александр Соломарский, Владимир Бортко — старший, Виктор Терентьев, Константин Чернядев, Виктор Стрижов, Эдуард Митницкий, Б. В. Сапегин, Александр Дзекун, К. С. Чернядев и многие другие.

В годы оккупации Одессы во время Великой Отечественной войны театр, в тот момент получивший название «Русский театр Василия Вронского» (по имени своего нового хозяина — бывшего, ещё дореволюционного артиста этого же театра), продолжал работать, открывшись 16 апреля 1942 года постановкой Гоголевского «Ревизора». Главным режиссёром в театре работал Г. Штольц. В труппе работало 45 артистов, а в театре – 25 человек технического персонала. За 2 года работы в оккупации в театре были поставлены «Вишнёвый сад», «Закон дикаря» Арцибашева, «Хорошо сшитый фрак» З. Тайфунленгиела. Своё первое выступление в Одессе знаменитый эстрадный певец Пётр Лещенко дал именно в Русском театре 20 мая 1942 года.

В декабре 2009 года Министерство культуры и туризма Украины наградил Одесский областной русский драматический театр звание академического театра. Во времена Советского Союза и новых государств, созданных после его распада, этот титул присуждается театрам, которые считаются самым престижным в стране.