Circus

The first circus building in Odessa appeared in 1857. Entrepreneur J. Godfroi built a rather primitive circus. Later there was a wooden one, under a canvas cover, then a stone one... In 1879, on the order of the famous rider and trainer A. Salamonsky, a building for 4,000 spectators was erected on Koblevskaya Street. However, it stood only ten years, after which it was dismantled. However, already on September 24, 1889, the Odessa Herald published a note: "Odessa, as you can see, is not destined to remain without a circus. The circus, as we are told, will belong to the homeowner V. Sanzenbacher, who owns a house on the corner of Koblevskaya and Torgovaya Streets. The construction of the circus will cost 70 thousand rubles. It will be built of stone, brick and iron. For 2000-odd viewers. Stables completely separate, for 60 horses, will be built of one iron. The circus will have steam heating".

The building was built of metal structures, designed and manufactured in Germany and assembled on rivets. That is why the circus is called "iron". However, the composition of the metal structures is unknown. It is known only that it does not rust and can not be welded.

The opening of the circus took place in January 1894.

In 1925, the Odessa Circus received the status of a state circus, which is preserved to this day.

Odessa circus is unique in that the distance from the arena to the dome is 22 m, although the standard is 18 m. Moreover, it is unique in that it is the oldest not only in the CIS, but also all over the world, because circuses anywhere except Russia and China, did not build. For circus performances, temporary disassembling booths were used, and under the circus they understood the troupe or view rather than the building.Architects: AE Shanes, K. K. Abt, L. L. Vlodek.

Цирк

Первое цирковое здание в Одессе появилось в 1857 г. Предприниматель Ж. Годфруа соорудил довольно-таки примитивный цирк. Позже был деревянный, под брезентовым покрытием, затем каменный… В 1879 г. по заказу знаменитого наездника и дрессировщика А. Саламонского на Коблевской улице возвели сооружение на 4 тысячи зрителей. Однако оно простояло всего десять лет, после чего его разобрали. Но уже 24 сентября 1889 г. «Одесский вестник» опубликовал заметку: «Одессе, как видно, не суждено остаться без цирка. Цирк, как нам передают, будет принадлежать домовладельцу В. Санценбахеру, владеющему домом на углу Коблевской и Торговой улиц. Постройка цирка обойдется в 70 тыс. рублей. Он будет выстроен из камня, кирпича и железа. На 2000 с лишним зрителей. Конюшня, совершенно отдельная, на 60 лошадей, будет выстроена из одного железа. Цирк будет иметь паровое отопление.».

Здание было построено из металлических конструкций, разработанных и изготовленных в Германии и собранных на заклёпках. Поэтому цирк называют «железным». Однако состав металла конструкций неизвестен. Известно лишь, что он не ржавеет и не поддается сварке.

Открытие цирка состоялось в январе 1894 г.

В 1925 г. Одесский цирк получил статус государственного, который сохраняется за ним и по сей день.

Одесский цирк уникален тем, что расстояние от манежа до купола — 22 м, хотя стандарт — 18 м. А ещё он уникален тем, что является самым старым не только в СНГ, но и во всём мире, потому что цирков нигде, кроме России и Китая, не строили. Для цирковых представлений использовались временные разборные балаганы, и под цирком скорее понимали труппу или представление, чем здание.

Архитекторы: А. Е. Шейнс, К. К. Абт, Л. Л. Влодек.