Temples and ChurchesCathedral of the Assumption of Mother of God

First Church of the Assumption of  Old Believers Community appeared in Odessa in 1841. That same year, the Old Believers of Church of the Assumption reunited with the Orthodox Church, and the Church of the Assumption was called of Common Faith . And fourteen years later St. Innocent laid a new three-altar Assumption Temple (designed by architect L. Otton). Construction of the temple, the height of which, together with the bell tower was 56 meters, and the capacity - 5000 people, ended in 1869. At the end of the 19th century there served as a priest holy righteous Ioan of Odessa .

Since 1932, the Holy Assumption Cathedral becamethe cathedral church, as the former - Orthodox - was destroyed by the Soviet authorities.

In the late '30s Cathedral was closed as well as the other churches in Odessa, and during the war its central dome and part of the church building would be destroyed by the explosion of Nazi bombs. The lower church of the Cathedral reinstated in 1942.

Today, the Holy Assumption Cathedral is a favorite place of pilgrims. The faithful come here to pray before Kasperovskaya Miraculous Icon of the Mother of God - the patroness of Odessa. For the first time the icon was brought from the village Kasperovo in 1854. Then it saved the South Palmyra from the Anglo -Franco- Turkish fleet. And it was so : there was the Crimean War. The squadron of ships came to Odessa. At this time, in the Orthodoz Cathedral , citizens together with St. Innocent prayed to the Kasperovskaya Mother of God. They asked her to defend the city . Suddenly, the sea fell so foggy that enemy ships could not make a single shot.

In the lower church of the Holy Assumption Cathedral lies the relics of zealous pastor of 19-20 century - the righteous Ion,who had brought a lot of different ways of holiness. He had the gift of prophecy and healing of soul and body injuries. Some time in the cathedral there were the relics of St. Innocent : after his death, he was buried at Odessa Orthodox Cathedral. But after the Cathedral blew up, the coffin of Archbishop was sent to the cemetery of the Holy Assumption Monastery. In 1997, St. Innocent was glorified among the saints . At the same time holy and imperishable relics were transferred to the Holy Assumption Cathedral for public worship, where they remained until 2007, till their solemn religious procession was not transferred to the restored Orthodox Cathedral.

Храмы и церквиСвято-Успенский Кафедральный собор

Первый Успенский храм старообрядческой общины появился в Одессе в 1841 году. В этот же год старообрядцы Успенской церкви воссоединились с Православной Церковью, и Успенская церковь стала именоваться единоверческой. А спустя четырнадцать лет святитель Иннокентий заложил новый трехпрестольный Успенский храм (проект архитектора Л. Оттона). Строительство храма, высота которого вместе с колокольней была 56 метров, а вместимость – 5000 человек, завершилась в 1869 году. В конце 19-го века в нем служил священником святой праведный Иона Одесский. 
С 1932 году Свято-Успенский собор становится кафедральным, так как прежний – Преображенский – был разрушен советской властью. 
В конце 30-х годов, как и другие храмы Одессы, собор закрывают, а во время войны его центральный купол и часть храмового здания будет разрушена от взрыва фашистской бомбы. Нижний храм собора восстановят в 1942 году.
Сегодня Свято-Успенский кафедральный собор – любимое место паломников. Верующие приходят сюда помолиться перед Касперовской чудотворной иконой Божьей Матери – покровительницей Одессы. Впервые икону из села Касперово привезли в 1854 году. Тогда она избавила Южную Пальмиру от англо-франко-турецкого флота. А дело было так: шла Крымская война. Эскадра кораблей подошла к Одессе. В это время в Преображенском соборе вместе со святителем Иннокентием горожане усердно молились перед Касперовской Богоматерью. Они просили ее защитить город. Неожиданно на море опустился такой туман, что с вражеских кораблей не смогли сделать ни одного выстрела.
В нижнем храме Свято-Успенского кафедрального собора находятся мощи ревностного пастыря 19-20 века – праведного Ионы, явившего много различных образов святости. Он обладал даром пророчества и целительства душевных и телесных ран. Некоторое время в соборе находились и мощи святителя Иннокентия: после кончины он был погребен в Свято-Преображенском соборе. Но после того, как собор взорвали, гроб архипастыря отправили на кладбище Свято-Успенского монастыря. В 1997 году святитель Иннокентий был прославлен в лике святых. Тогда же его святые и нетленные мощи были перенесены в Свято-Успенский кафедральный собор для всеобщего поклонения, где они и находились до 2007 года, пока их торжественно, Крестным ходом, не перенесли в возрожденный Спасо-Преображенский собор.