Temples and ChurchesOdessa Orthodox Cathedral

In August 1794 , during the solemn consecration of Odessa, on the city's main square (Sobornaya  Square) by Metropolitan Gavriil himself was blessed the construction site of a church in honor of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, and a year later the first stone was grounded . Built soon ( in 1804 ), Orthodox Church  became the ancestor of the future Cathedral.

In 1908, the Orthodox Christians widely celebrated a hundred-years anniversary of Orthodox Cathedral (Holy Transfiguration Cathedral) - one of the largest cathedrals in Russia . No one could imagine that in nine years a new chronology would appear: after Bolsheviki came to power, they seized all the church property and in May 1937 the church was blown up. The remains of former archbishops, rested in the lateral limits of the temple at the request of church bodies were transported to Slobodskoe Cemetery. There they stayed for a long time, until a few years ago they were reburied at the cemetery of the Holy Dormition Male Monastery. The bodies of a governor of the NovorossiyskayaTerritory - Count Vorontsov and his wife were abused and thrown into a ditch near the wall of the city cemetery . The remains of the revered citizens of Odessa were secretly buried .

Following the adoption of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine in 1999 (Odessa Orthodox Cathedral was included in the Program of recovery  of outstanding lost monuments of history and culture of Ukraine), the cathedral began to recover and on Christmas Day in 2001 the bell tower was opened.

At September the 2nd, 2004 the mosaic icon of Christ Pantocrator on the Throne was opened on the eastern facade of the Cathedral and Filatov fountain appeared in Cathedral Square . A year later, the lower part of Odessa Transfiguration Cathedral was consecrated in honor of St. Innocent Odessa  Wonderworker. In the same year, the remains of the spouses Vorontsov were transferred to the cathedral. On the reburial , in detail repeating funeral of the Count ( procession proceeded from the governor's Palace to the Cathedral) , gathered about ten thousand of Odessa residents wishing to express respect the Governor-General, who made a lot of good deeds for the glory of the city.

At  July 7th, 2007 in the lower church of the Cathedral were re-buried the relics of St. Innocent of Odessa .

Храмы и церквиКафедральный Спасо-Преображенский собор

В августе 1794 года, во время торжественного освящения Одессы, на главной городской площади (Соборная площадь) лично митрополитом Гавриилом было освящено место строительства церкви в честь Николая Чудотворца, а через год заложен первый камень. Построенная вскоре (в 1804 году) Спасо-Преображенская церковь и стала прародительницей будущего кафедрального собора. 

В 1908 году православные христиане широко отметили столетие Спасо-Преображенского кафедрального собора - одного из крупнейших соборов России. Никто тогда и предположить не мог, что через девять лет начнется другое времяисчисление: после прихода к власти большевиков были изъяты церковные ценности, а в мае 1937 року храм был взорван. Останки бывших архиепископов, покоившиеся в боковых пределах храма по ходатайству церковных органов перевезли на Слободское кладбище. Там они пролежали до недавнего времени, пока несколько лет назад не были перезахоронены на кладбище Свято-Успенского мужского монастыря. Над телами же губернатора Новороссийского края графа Воронцова и его супруги, покоившихся тут же, надругались и сбросили в ров у стены городского кладбища. Останки почитаемых граждан Одессы были тайно захоронены.
После принятия в 1999 году постановления Кабинета Министров Украины, включающего Одесский Спасо-Преображенский собор в Программу восстановления выдающихся утраченных памятников истории и культуры Украины, собор начинают восстанавливать, и на Рождество Христово 2001 года состоялось торжественное открытие колокольни. 

2 сентября 2004 года провели торжественное открытие мозаичной иконы Христа Вседержителя на Престоле на восточном фасаде собора и открыли Филатовский фонтан на Соборной площади. Через год состоялось освящение нижнего храма Одесского Спасо-Преображенского Собора в честь святителя Иннокентия Одесского чудотворца. В этом же году останки супругов Воронцовых были перенесены в собор. На перезахоронение, в мельчайших деталях повторяющее похороны графа (шествие проследовало от дворца губернатора до собора), собралось около десяти тысяч одесситов, желающих выразить почтение генерал-губернатору, сделавшему много добрых дел на благо и во славу города. 

Огромное внимание вызвало у православных одесситов и другое важное в жизни Спасо-Преображенского собора событие: 7 июля 2007 года в его нижний храм были перезахоронены честные мощи святителя Иннокентия Одесского.