Secrets of underground Odessa

The museum “Secrets of underground Odessa” is a project of public organization of military historical club “Voinskaya Doblest” (Warrior’s Valor). The source of idea belongs to a small group of like-minded individuals who love their city and its history.

The excursion starts from the surface and lowering further in catacombs. You go deeper into history of our city and learning a lot of interesting. 

The catacombs of Odessa is the network of underground passages and labyrinths under the city. The most part of catacombs (95-97%) were the quarries. There was shelly limestone mines which had been used for building of the most part of city. Also there are some natural karst caves. Now the overall length of Odessa catacombs is estimated around 2.5 – 3 thousands kilometers. The catacombs’ climate is the same during the whole year – temperature +14°С, moisture 90%. 

In different time catacombs took important place in lives of odessans. In 18-19 centuries catacombs were used by smugglers, bandits for their dark deeds, and served as jails for kidnapped women sold in slavery.

In times of Revolution catacombs served as hideouts for typographers of Bolsheviks press. During the war catacombs were used by partisans and guerillas against German and Romanian occupants. In times of Cold War the system of catacombs was used for building of antinuclear bunkers. 

If you visit the museum you can not only listen to these and other stories but see how it was happening with your own eyes.

Тайны подземной Одессы

Музей «Тайны подземной Одессы» является проектом Общественной организации Военно-Исторического Клуба «Воинская Доблесть». У истоков идеи создания музея стоит небольшая сплочённая команда единомышленников, любящих свой город и его историю.

Концепция общей сути музея такова — начиная с поверхности, по мере углубления в катакомбы, вы погружаетесь всё дальше и дальше в прошлое нашего города, открывая для себя много интересного.

Одесские катакомбы — сеть подземных ходов и лабиринтов под Одессой.  Большая часть катакомб (95-97 %) — бывшие каменоломни, из которых добывался строительный камень — ракушняк — «понтический» известняк, используемый для постройки города.  Также в систему катакомб входят полости естественного происхождения — карстовые и дилатансионные пещеры.  В настоящее время длина Одесских катакомб оценивается приблизительно в 2,5 — 3 тыс. км.  В катакомбах круглый год одинаковый климат — 14 градусов при влажности 90%.

В разное время катакомбы занимали важное место в жизни одесситов.  Так в 18-19 веках катакомбы были перевалочными базами для контрабандистов, малинами для разных банд, тюрьмой для женщин, проданных в рабство.

В революцию катакомбы были местом сбора подпольщиков, местом для типографии большевистской газеты.  В годы войны в катакомбах Одессы укрывались партизанские и диверсионные отряды.  В послевоенные годы (годы холодной войны) систему катакомб использовали для строительства противоатомных бункеров.

Посетив музей «Тайны подземной Одессы» вы не только услышите эти и другие истории, но и сможете воочию увидеть, как это было.