Museum of the port of Odessa named after F.P. De Volan

Museum of the port of Odessa named after F.P. De Volan was found on April 10, 1990 and opened to the 200th anniversary of Odessa. It is located in one of the old buildings on Lanzheronovskiy Descent, where before the revolution there were “barges” - shelters for homeless workers of the port.

The main purpose of creating the museum of the port of Odessa was to educate and organize the exposition, which would tell visitors the story of the past and present of the port of Odessa, which is inextricably linked with the history of the city.

For the first few years of its existence, the museum has become a center, which reflects the unique history of one of the leading ports of the country with rich historical roots. Expositions of this museum reveal the history of Odessa and the entire Northern Black Sea region.

The museum consists of five rooms, a total area of ​​490 square meters. Today in the museum, you can see rare archaeological finds, charts, maps, ancient engravings telling about the life and culture of the people who inhabited the Northern Black Sea region during the era of antiquity and later periods; you will learn about the multicultural history of the region and about the foundation and development of Odessa. There are also displayed all of De Volan’s unique plans for the construction and development of the port, Odessa and other cities of Ukraine, which were found in the archives of Russia.

Музей одесского порта имени Ф.П. Де-Волана

Музей одесского порта имени Ф.П. Де-Волана был основан 10 апреля 1990 года и открыт к 200-летнему юбилею Одессы. Он обосновался в одном из старинных зданий на Ланжероновском спуске, в которых до революции находились «баржаны» – ночлежные дома для бездомных грузчиков порта.

Основной целью создания музея одесского порта была просветительская деятельность и организация экспозиции, которая знакомила бы посетителей с прошлым и настоящим одесского порта, неразрывно связанного с историей города.

За первые несколько лет своего существования музей стал своеобразным центром, отражающим уникальную историю одного из ведущих портов страны, который имеет богатые исторические корни. Кроме того, в его экспозиции раскрывается история Одессы и всего Северного Причерноморья.

В данный момент экспозиция музея состоит из 5 залов, общей площадью 490 кв. метров. Сегодня в музее можно увидеть редчайшие археологические находки, схемы, карты, старинные гравюры, рассказывающие о жизни, быте и культуре народов, населявших Северное Причерноморье в эпоху античности и в более поздние периоды, о многогранной истории края, об основании и развитии Одессы. Демонстрируются и все найденные в архивах России уникальные планы Де-Волана по строительству и развитию порта, Одессы и других городов Украины.