Paustovsky Museum

Many people know who Konstantin Georgievich Paustovsky (1892-1968) is, but not everyone knows that he is a direct descendant of Hetman Sagaidachny on his father's line.

With Odessa, Konstantin Paustovsky is connected with several visits: the first time in 1906, the last one - in 1960. The longest period - from 1919 to 1922 he lived and worked here, which was subsequently reflected in his work. About Odessa, he wrote a lot, but the most famous work - the story "Time of Big Expectations" (1959) became a landmark for our city. It was with him, without exaggeration, began the revival of the cultural life of Odessa. Thanks to Konstantin Paustovsky, the whole world learned about literary Odessa, about Odessa writers Isaak Babel, Eduard Bagritsky, Yuri Olesha and other talented Odessaites, whose names for many years undeservedly were hushed up.

Since the publication of this book, both the city and historical sites associated with the Odessa period of Paustovsky's life are of great interest to his admirers. Especially among foreigners who have the opportunity to read his works in 68 languages.

As for the inhabitants of Odessa, they show their love and gratitude to the writer for more than 50 years. Over the years, the story was reprinted four times, one of the libraries of the city was named after Konstantin Paustovsky, in honor of the writer a street was named, a literary prize was created for him, a stove was installed on the Walk of Stars. Initiative odessites organized the Literary Association "Mir Paustovsky", and five years later they also made a proposal to create a museum in the city of Constantine Paustovsky. So, from December 1, 1998 the Odessa Literary Museum has one more branch - the Memorial Museum of K.G. Paustovsky.

The museum is located in the coastal part of the city - on the Black Sea Street. "I fell in love with this small out-of-the-way street and I was sure that it was the most picturesque in the world," wrote Paustovsky in his novel.

On the 125th anniversary of the writer, in May 2017, a new exposition of the museum was created. The main part of it is devoted to Odessa in the 1920s, to that Odessa, which Paustovsky described in the story "Time of Big Expectations". The exposition is framed in the form of an Odessa apartment of that period, where furniture, household items are located, the layout of the janitor in which the writer lived, books, manuscripts and memorial things of Konstantin Paustovsky.

No less interesting are the thematic expositions of the museum dedicated to the history of the Paustovsky clan "I am Viris in Ukraine", children's and foreign editions of his works. Several times a year the museum opens the exhibition, which shows materials not included in the main exhibition.

The open-air exposition devoted to the history of the city is open all year round in the courtyard of the museum.

Музей К.Г. Паустовского

Мемориальный музей К.Г. Паустовского.

Многие знают, кто такой Константин Георгиевич Паустовский (1892-1968), но не всем известно, что он является прямым потомком гетьмана Сагайдачного по отцовской линии.

С Одессой Константин Паустовский связан несколькими приездами: первый раз в 1906 году, последний – в 1960-м.  Самый большой период – с 1919 по 1922 годы он здесь жил и работал, что впоследствии нашло отражение в его творчестве. Об Одессе им было написано много, но самое знаменитое произведение - повесть «Время больших ожиданий» (1959) стало знаковым для нашего города. Именно с него, без преувеличения, началось возрождение культурной жизни Одессы. Благодаря Константину Паустовскому весь мир узнал о литературной Одессе, об одесских писателях Исааке Бабеле, Эдуарде Багрицком, Юрии Олеше и других талантливых одесситах, чьи имена долгие годы незаслуженно замалчивались. 

С момента выхода этой книги и город, и исторические места, связанные с одесским периодом жизни Паустовского, вызывают большой интерес у его почитателей. Особенно у иностранцев, которые имеют возможность читать его произведения на 68 языках мира.

Что же касается одесситов, то свою любовь и благодарность писателю они проявляют  уже более 50 лет. За эти годы повесть переиздавалась 4 раза, одной из библиотек города присвоено имя Константина Паустовского, в честь писателя названа улица, учреждена литературная премия его имени, установлена плита на Аллее звезд.  Инициативные одесситы организовали литературное товарищество «Мир Паустовского», а спустя пять лет они же выступили с предложением о создании в городе музея Константина Паустовского. Так, с 1 декабря 1998 года у Одесского литературного музея появился еще один филиал – Мемориальный музей К.Г. Паустовского.

Музей находится в прибрежной части города – на улице Черноморской. «Я полюбил эту маленькую окраинную улицу и был уверен, что она самая живописная в мире» - писал Паустовский в своей повести.

К 125-летию писателя, в мае 2017 года, была создана новая экспозиция музея. Основная ее часть посвящена Одессе 1920-х годов, той Одессе, которую Паустовский описал в повести «Время больших ожиданий». Экспозиция оформлена  в виде одесской квартиры того периода, где находятся мебель, предметы быта, макет дворницкой в которой жил писатель, книги, рукописи и мемориальные вещи Константина Паустовского.

Не менее содержательны и тематические экспозиции музея, посвященные истории рода Паустовских «Я виріс на Україні», детским и иностранным изданиям его произведений. Несколько раз в году в музее открываются выставки, где демонстрируются материалы не вошедшие в основную экспозицию.

Во дворике музея круглый год работает экспозиция под открытым небом, посвященная истории города.