LandmarksVorontsov Palace

Odesa is famous for the multitude of magnificent buildings in “royal” Empire style, which made up its unique and very attractive look. Vorontsov Palace is is rightly considered as one of the brightest architectural monuments. It was a manor-residence of the Novorossiysk Governorate's governor-general, Prince Mikhail Vorontsov, whose twenty-year-long cadence is called the Southern Palmyra's golden age.

The palatial complex consists of the main building, luxurious belvedere colonnade and household buildings. It raised on the seaside cliff in town's center, in the early 19th century. Created by prominent architect Francesco Boffo's talent and fantasy, the palace became one of the most adorable buildings in Odessa.

Everything here was made in Italian manner and with amazingly fine taste. The building's exterior embodied the best classicism traits, while its interior was designed using predominantly romanticism techniques. Manor's ground floor was especially luxurious. Guest rooms, billiard room, ball hall with fireplace and library were located here. All rooms were richly decorated with stucco work, gilding and expensive mosaic, the walls were adorned with paintings, and huge crystal chandeliers shone in the center.

Some items of interior - for instance, luxurious marble fireplace standing in the gala room - were brought to Odessa from St. Petersburg's Michael Palace. Besides its beauty, this fireplace is also notable for having stood in Russian Imperator's (Pavel I) bedroom and having witnessed his assassination.

The first tragic turn in Vorontsov Palace's history happened in the 1854 - during the Crimean War, when the united English and French squadron bombarded Odessa. The palatial complex's buildings were severely damaged then. By the way, having heard about the bombing, Prince Vorontsov asked to save the unique library collection in the first place. He considered it the palace's main treasure. Valuable books were saved, and donated to the local university later, where they are kept until now.

The palatial complex was soon restored, but it remained the governor's residence only for a short time - in the late 19th century, a men's gymnasium was opened on its premises. And in 1917, with the start of the revolution in Russia, the Vorontsov Palace was turned into the center of Odesa uprising, and later - into the Red Guard's headquarters. These changes, naturally, had a negative influence on palatial complex's condition. Furniture and some decorative items were taken to Vorontsov's other estate - the Alupka palace in Crimea.

In the 30s years of the 20th century, the Pioneer Palace was opened in the former governor's residence. In this status the Vorontsov Palace met the World War II, during which it suffered even greater losses: some buildings were totally leveled to the ground, others were severely damaged.

Today the manor's restored and reconstructed building is the center of children's and youth's creativity. Meanwhile, the restoration works are continued. Their final goal is to return Vorontsov Palace to its historical look. It must be said, though, that even in its present state the complex preserved the traits of its former grandeur and impresses everyone who uncovers its history.

ДостопримечательностиВоронцовский дворец

Одесса славится множеством великолепных зданий в «королевском» стиле ампир, которые сформировали ее уникальный и такой притягательный облик. Одним из самых ярких ее архитектурных памятников по праву считается Воронцовский дворец – усадьба-резиденция генерал-губернатора Новороссийского края, графа Михаила Воронцова, чью двадцатилетнюю каденцию справедливо считают золотым веком для Южной Пальмиры.

Дворцовый комплекс, включающий, помимо главного здания, роскошную колоннаду-бельведер и хозяйственные постройки, вырос на приморском утесе в центре города в первой половине XIX века. Созданный талантом и фантазией выдающегося архитектора Франца Буффо, дворец стал одним из самых восхитительных одесских зданий.

Все здесь было сделано в итальянской манере и с удивительно тонким вкусом. И если внешний вид сооружения воплощал в себе лучшие черты классицизма, то для оформления интерьеров были преимущественно использованы приемы романтизма. Особой роскошью отличался первый этаж усадьбы, на котором располагались гостевые комнаты, бильярдная, бальный зал с камином и библиотека. Все залы были богато декорированы лепниной, позолотой и дорогой мозаикой, стены украшены картинами, а в центре сияли огромные хрустальные люстры.

Некоторые предметы интерьера – как, например, роскошный мраморный камин, установленный в парадном зале, – были привезены в Одессу из санкт-петербургского Михайловского дворца. Камин этот, помимо своей красоты, примечателен тем, что до этого стоял в спальне российского императора Павла I и был свидетелем его убийства.

Первый трагический поворот в истории Воронцовского дворца произошел в 1854 году – во время Крымской войны, когда объединенная англо-французская эскадра бомбардировала Одессу. Тогда здания дворцового комплекса были сильно разрушены. К слову, князь Воронцов, узнав о бомбардировке, прежде всего просил сохранить уникальное библиотечное собрание, которое считал главным сокровищем дворца. Ценные книги уберегли, а позже передали в дар местному университету, где они хранятся до сих пор.

Дворцовый комплекс вскоре восстановили, однако губернаторской резиденцией он прослужил недолго – уже в конце XIX столетия в его помещениях была открыта мужская гимназия. А с началом в России революции в 1917 году Воронцовский дворец и вовсе превратили в центр восстания Одессы, а позже – в штаб Красной гвардии. Такие перемены, разумеется, негативно сказались на состоянии дворцового комплекса. Мебель и некоторые предметы убранства были вывезены в другое имение Воронцова – Алупкинский дворец в Крыму.

В 30-х годах ХХ века в здании бывшей губернаторской резиденции открыли Дворец пионеров. В этом статусе Воронцовский дворец и встретил Вторую мировую войну, во время которой понес еще большие потери: некоторые из его построек были полностью стерты с лица земли, другие – сильно повреждены.

В настоящее время восстановленное и реконструированное здание усадьбы по-прежнему остается центром детского и юношеского творчества. Реставрационные работы, между тем, продолжаются, их конечная цель – возвращение Воронцовскому дворцу его исторического вида. Но надо сказать, что и в нынешнем состоянии комплекс сохранил следы своего былого величия и производит впечатление на каждого, кто решает прикоснуться к его истории.