Odessa Astronomical Observatory

In Odessa, there is the oldest operating astronomical observatory in Ukraine and it is located in the park of T.G. Shevchenko.  Here you can look at a real telescope, which, by the way, is already 150 years old. Also here you can ask any questions and listen to a lecture about the cosmos.

Construction of the observatory began in 1870. By this time in Odessa had already established a university, and with it the chair of astronomy.

The Observatory was a member of the Department of Astronomy and was first used as a base for the academic work of the department, while at the same time carrying out a number of assignments of the city: checking navigational instruments of ships, tracking the correct course of city hours and determining the timing of ignition and extinguishing of the city lighting. Realizing that qualitative astronomical observations require a clean atmosphere, the observatory staff began planting trees, which later became the rudiments of the Alexander Park (now the Shevchenko Park). Already in the first years of its existence, the staff of the observatory participated in expedition work to determine the geographical locations in the Caucasus during the Russian-Turkish wars, and then in Turkey itself.

In 1850-1910 became one of the largest scientific institutions of the country's universities. In these years, in addition to studying, the motion of celestial bodies, astrophysical studies of the sun, planets and stars, began to develop in the observatory. Was created the first gravimetric map of the country, singled out many deposits of minerals, organized a geodetic survey of Odessa's estuaries, the first survey of city streets, coastal slopes, studied landslide problems, the influence of the tides of the sea. In 1920, the observatory became the Odessa State Astronomical Observatory, which at one time was called and operated as the Main State Astronomical Observatory of Ukraine. The observatory began to explore comets, meteorites and much more.

Now the Odessa Astronomical Observatory, a division of the Odessa National University, is the world's leading organization for studying the chemical and dynamic evolution of stars and the Galaxy. The latest methods of observing stars, meteors, artificial earth satellites, celestial mechanical research, astronomy textbooks, the scientific journal Odessa Astronomical Publications, the Odessa Astronomical Calendar are actively developing.

Обсерватория в парке Шевченко

В Одессе есть старейшая действующая астрономическая обсерватория Украины и находится она в парке им. Т.Г. Шевченко. Там можно посмотреть в настоящий телескоп, которому, к слову, уже 150 лет. Также тут можно задать любые вопросы и послушать лекцию о космосе. 

Строительство обсерватории началось в 1870 году. К этому времени в Одессе уже был создали университет, а при нем кафедра астрономии.

Обсерватория входила в состав кафедры астрономии и сначала использовалась как база для учебных работ кафедры, выполняя, в то же время, ряд поручений города: поверку навигационных приборов кораблей, слежение за правильным ходом городских часов и определением времени зажигания и гашения городского освещения. Понимая, что качественные астрономические наблюдения требуют чистой атмосферы, сотрудники обсерватории начали посадку деревьев, которые впоследствии стали зачатком Александровского парка (ныне парк имени Шевченко). Уже в первые годы своего существования сотрудники обсерватории участвовали в экспедиционных работах по определению географических пунктов на Кавказе во время русско-турецких войн, а затем и в самой Турции.

В 1850-1910 годах стала одним из крупнейших научных учреждений университетов страны. В эти годы, кроме изучения движения небесных тел, в обсерватории стали развиваться астрофизические исследования Солнца, планет, звезд.  Тут создали первую гравиметрическую карту страны, выделив многие месторождения полезных ископаемых, организовали геодезическую съемку одесских лиманов, первую съемку улиц города, береговых склонов, изучили оползневые проблемы, влияние приливов моря. В 1920 году обсерватория стала Одесской государственной астрономической обсерваторией, которая одно время называлась и работала как Главная государственная астрономическая обсерватория  Украины. В обсерватории стали исследовать кометы, метеориты и многое другое. 

Сейчас Одесская астрономическая обсерватория, - подразделение Одесского национального университета,- является ведущей в мире организацией по исследованию химической и динамической эволюции звезд и Галактики. Активно развиваются новейшие методики наблюдения звезд, метеоров, искусственных спутников Земли, небесно-механические исследования, выпускаются учебники по астрономии, научный журнал Odessa Astronomical Publications, Одесский астрономический календарь.