LandmarksVorontsovskaya colonnade

A colonnade, also rotunda or belvedere is one of the symbols of Odessa its a cultural heritage site. It is a continuation of the Vorontsov estate Palace and is located on the very precipice of the hill. The colonnade was built by the architect F. K. Boffo in 1826-1828.

Made in the Tuscan order style, the Vorontsov colonnade blends wonderfully with the surrounding buildings. Colonnade has a curved form – inner row is somewhat compressed and the outer row is stretched, which gives it a kind of beauty, rigor and grandeur.

This architectural monument is the best observation point of the city. There is a splendid view of the sea shore and port. Specifically, at this place the Governor-General of the city Count Vorontsov admired the beauty of Odessa. Here you can see everything at a glance, and therefore, over morning tea, he was aware of everything happening around – he saw all the news – what ships came into the port and how they were discharged.

A gallery, that was running around, was initially surrounded by a greenhouse where a variety of exotic plants and fruit were growing. According to witnesses, at that time the gallery was “one of the most beautiful places of the Palace”.

ДостопримечательностиКолоннада Воронцовского дворца

Колоннада, она же ротонда и бельведер – один из символов Одессы, объект культурного наследия. Она является продолжением дворцовой усадьбы Графа Воронцова и его составной частью. Колоннада была построена по проекту архитектора Ф.К. Боффо в 1826-1828 гг.

Выполненная в стиле тосканского ордера, Воронцовская колоннада удивительно гармонирует с окружающими зданиями. Колоннада имеет изогнутый вид – внутренний ряд несколько сжат, а внешний, со стороны моря, растянут, что придает ей своеобразную красоту, строгость и величие.

Этот памятник архитектуры является лучшей обзорной точкой города. Отсюда открывается прекрасный вид на морское побережье. Именно здесь любовался местной красотой и сам генерал-губернатор города Воронцов. Здесь видно все, как на ладони, а потому, за утренним чаепитием, он был в курсе всего происходящего вокруг – сам видел все новости – какие суда приходят в порт и как они разгружаются.

Оббегающая галерея первоначально окружала оранжерею, в которой выращивались различные экзотические растения и фрукты, и была, по словам очевидцев того времени, «одним из прекраснейших мест дворца».