Academy of Telecommunications named after A.S. Popov

Odessa National Academy of Telecommunications named after A.S. Popov

In 1900, in Odessa, the Higher Courses of Telegraphic Mechanics were opened, which trained technicians for the southern part of what was then Russia. The building of the courses was located at Staroportofrankovskaya.

At the congress of railway electrical engineers and telegraph chiefs, which was held in Odessa (1897), it became clear that the electrical engineering of “weak” currents opened up a wide range of problems that require separate study. A powerful argument at the congress in favour of this was the demonstration of A.S. Popovy researches of wireless telegraphy, which caused a general admiration and ovation.

Practical communication requirements in Odessa during the period of the revolution and civil war were met by private radio-telegraph workshops.

In 1919, these workshops were reorganized into the first in Russia Odessa state radio-telegraph plant (OGTZ, Sofievskaya, 8).

In 1923, OGTZ ceased its independent operation. In the same year, the educational process in the building of former courses of telegraph mechanics is resumed, but already as the Odessa Higher Technical School of Power Flows (OVE) them. Grinko - the former Minister of Education of Ukraine.

In the autumn of 1929, the education reform was carried out and the Higher Electrotechnical School became the electrical engineering faculty of the Odessa Polytechnic Institute (PSI).

During the establishment of the Institute by design and manufacture of equipment in the radio workshop of the Institute for the needs of the Red Army, a graduate of 1931, S.M. Plahotnik - in time, one of the deputies of the Minister of Communications of the USSR, laureate of the State Prize of the USSR.

CM. Plahotnik was one of the first in the Soviet Union to construct a television set whose work was demonstrated in the premises of the Odessa Opera and Ballet Theatre for participants of the regional congress of Soviets. Later, the improved model of this TV, he presented in 1933. Marshal of the Soviet Union K.E. Voroshilov on the day of celebrating the anniversary of the Red Army in Moscow.

In 1935-1937, under the leadership of SM. Plavnik was the first in the Soviet Union to make long-distance short-distance television transmissions from Odessa to Moscow.

A lot of pre-war graduates of the Institute became recognized experts in the field of telecommunications. Among them are doctors of technical sciences, professors I.S. Gonorovsky, G.Z. Eisenberg, A.M. Zingerenko, P.I. Evdokimov. Winners of the State Prizes V.F. Zhelezov, S.M. Plahotnik, A.A. Bolshoy, N.N. Smirnitsky, V. Shumeiko.

In 1948, the institute was entrusted to the assistant professor Pyshkin Ivan Petrovich. Under his administration in 1954, students and teachers built from the captured radio components one of the first experimental television centres in the USSR that served Odessa.

Odessa citizens and numerous guests of our city are pleased to listen to the music of I.O. Dunaevsky, which sounds from the Odessa chimes that were created at the institute in 1959. The work of the chimes became a symbol of Odessa

In 1967, by decree of the Council of Ministers of the USSR, the institute was given the name of the inventor of radio A.S. Popova. And in 1980, for the successes achieved in the training of communication engineers and the development of scientific research, the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Ukrainian SSR awarded the institute with the Certificate of Honor.

In 1966-1981 the institute was headed by Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor Boris Petrovich Kutasin. From 1981 to 2001, the Institute, and then the Academy was headed by Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor Ivan Pavlovich Panfilov. In 2001, he was rector of ONAT. A.S. Popov was chosen by Professor Petr Petrovich Vorobienko.

Академия связи им. А.С. Попова

Одесская национальная академия связи им. А.С. Попова

В 1900 году в Одессе открылись Высшие курсы телеграфных механиков, которые подготавливали техников для южной части тогдашней России. Здание курсов находилось на Старопортофранковской.

На съезде железнодорожных электротехников и начальников телеграфов, который проходил в Одессе (1897г.), стало ясно, что электротехника «слабых» токов открывает широкий круг проблем, которые требуют отдельного изучения. Весомым аргументом на съезде в пользу этого стала демонстрация А.С. Поповым исследования беспроводного телеграфирования, который вызвал всеобщее восхищение и овации.

Практические требования связи в Одессе в период революции и гражданской войны удовлетворялись частными радиотелеграфными мастерскими.

В 1919 году эти мастерские были реорганизованы в первый в России Одесский государственный радиотелеграфный завод (ОГТЗ, Софиевская, 8).

В 1923 году ОГТЗ прекратил своё самостоятельное функционирование. В этом же году возобновляется учебный процесс в здании бывших курсов телеграфных механиков, но уже как Одесский Высший электротехникум сильных потоков (ОВЭ) им. Гринько – бывшего министра образования Украины.

Осенью 1929 года была проведена реформа образования и Высший электротехникум стал электротехническим факультетом Одесского политехнического института (ОПИ).

Во время становления института конструированием и изготовлением аппаратуры в радиомастерских института для нужд Красной Армии занимался выпускник 1931 года С.М. Плахотник – со временем один из заместителей Министра связи СССР, лауреат Государственной премии СССР.

С.М. Плахотник – один из первых в Советском Союзе сконструировал телевизор, работа которого демонстрировалась в помещении Одесского театра оперы и балета для участников областного съезда Советов. Позднее усовершенствованную модель этого телевизора он подарил в 1933г. Маршалу Советского Союза К.Е. Ворошилову на день празднования годовщины Красной армии в Москве.

В 1935-1937 годах под управлением С.М. Плахотника впервые в Советском Союзе были совершены дальние передачи малострочного телевидения из Одессы в Москву.

Немало довоенных выпускников института стали признанными специалистами в сфере электросвязи. Среди них доктора технических наук, профессора И.С. Гоноровский, Г.З. Айзенберг, А.М. Зингеренко, П.И. Евдокимов. Лауреаты Государственных премий В.Ф. Железов, С.М. Плахотник, А.А. Большой, Н.Н. Смирницкий, В. Шумейко. 

В 1948 году руководство институтом было доверено доценту Пышкину Ивану Петровичу. Под его управлением в 1954 году силами студентов и преподавателей был построен из трофейных радиодеталей один из первых в СССР экспериментальный телецентр, который обслуживал Одессу.

Одесситы и многочисленные гости нашего города с удовольствием слушают музыку И.О. Дунаевского, которая звучит из одесских курантов, которые были созданы в институте в 1959 году. Работа курантов стала своеобразным символом Одессы

В 1967 году Постановлением Совета министров СССР институту присвоено имя изобретателя радио А.С. Попова. А в 1980 году за успехи, достигнутые в подготовке инженеров связи и развитии научных исследований, Президиум Верховного Совета Украинской ССР наградил институт Почетной грамотой.

В 1966-1981 годах институтом руководил доктор технических наук, профессор Борис Петрович Кутасин. С 1981 по 2001 год институт, а потом академию возглавлял доктор технических наук, профессор Иван Павлович Панфилов. В 2001г ректором ОНАС им. А.С. Попова был выбран профессор Петр Петрович Воробиенко.